img_bks_GrandTuhon@2x.jpg

GRAND
TUHON
LEO T.
GAJE JR.

THE GRANDMASTER

"Kali, the original martial art of the Philippines in its truest form, is an art of combat based on the science of strategy and tactics. The fighting methods can be traced back to ancient times based on its historical and cultural developments, yet the techniques will always be so advanced that its fighting values will always remain timeless." - Grand Tuhon Leo T. Gaje, Jr

This description of Kali from Grand Tuhon himself offers profound insight, from the founding principles all the way to its modern applications.

img_bks_Gaye@2x.jpg

MORE RELEVANT THAN EVER

Pekiti-Tirsia Kali is known for being the best system for close combat. Since the Pekiti-Tirsia program was incorporated into the Philippine military in 1998, the Force Recon Marines, US Special Forces, and other combat weapon units have been trained in the discipline. The superiority of Philippine combat technology has been acknowledged and adopted by trainers and commanders of US forces.

Currently, Grand Tuhon is the leading advisor of the armed forces of the Philippines and the Philippine National Police. He implements programs for further education that are geared towards operative units taking part in the global war against terrorism.
Over time, Grand Tuhon has trained and impacted thousands of martial artists, some of which have moved on to develop their own styles. Some of his students included Edgar Sulite, Dan Inosanto, and Chris Sayoc, among many others. Grand Tuhon is, as ever, the leading authority for Philippine martial arts worldwide. His name is synonymous with the sharpness of a blade; as such, he has been given the title of Sword Master.

Although Pekiti-Tirsia Kali is not designed to be a tournament sport, it has proven itself to be effective in the arena. Pekiti-Tirsia Kali has produced many national and international champions in full-contact stick fighting, such as the Grand Champion of the first National Arnis Tournament (Kali, Eskrima), which was held in the Philippines in 1979. 
In the category Real Contact Stick Fighting—which is stick fighting with minimal to no protective gear—Pekiti-Tirsia Kali and its fighters are seen in high regard. Eric Knaus ("Top Dog"), a student of Grand Tuhon, was the founder of the Dog Brothers, which has since then become well known worldwide.

img_bks_magazine@2x.jpg

THE 1970s

In 1972, Grand Tuhon emigrated to the United States from the Philippines and settled in New York. In accordance with his philosophy on Pekiti-Tirsia Kali and his belief in life, health, and success, Grand Tuhon decided to share his knowledge and began teaching Pekiti-Tirsia Kali in New York. 

He became a worldwide leader in promoting and imparting authentic Philippine martial arts. He did not only teach those passionate about martial arts but also members of a wide range of military and law prosecution careers. In the 1970s, he was the leading Filipino martial arts master in the eastern United States. To this day, he still works with the highest levels of the Philippine government to promote, acknowledge, and protect the cultural heritage of the Philippine martial art.

Grand Tuhon was the first to make Philippine martial arts accessible to a wide audience by organizing and implementing large-scale advertisement campaigns and demonstrations on the East Coast of the US, in places such as the Lincoln Center in New York. He also organized the first public demonstration of Philippine full-contact stick fighting in the Playboy Club in New Jersey. He was the first to open a Philippine martial arts school in the Philippine Consulate in New York City, and as the first, he promoted the Philippine martial art to other national organizations of the discipline.

In 1979, Grand Tuhon—along with other grandmasters—was the main organizer of the first national Arnis (Kali) tournament in the Philippines.

THE 1980s

In the 80s, the first generation of Pekiti-Tirsia students and instructors dominated the full-contact stick fighting tournament scene in the US.

Grand Tuhon was the first to introduce the Philippine martial art to the New York Police Department (NYPD) as well as the first to develop and implement a training program for the NYPD. Building on the work of these programs, Grand Tuhon developed the "Safety Baton System," the first defensive tactical weapon system for security authorities that both maximizes the physical integrity of the offender and reduces the consequent risk of liability for the authorities. This happened at a time when security authorities were trained in combat systems that overwhelmingly aimed to attack vital regions of the body. This often led to significant liability claims against police officers and departments. Dr. Kevin Parsons, Exec., the director of the US Justice System Association, stated that the Safety Baton System is "without question the most dynamic, innovative, and certainly the most effective system that I have had the opportunity to examine in almost 20 years of educating police officers."

Grand Tuhon was later promoted to national instruction director of the Justice System Training Association and the US Police Defensive Tactics Association, which led to his position as technical consultant and his appearance in the video "SURVIVING EDGED WEAPONS" from Calibre Press in 1988.
This highly acclaimed video reinforced threats from blade weapons in law enforcement institutions and established Gran Tuhon as the leading authority in weapons defense tactics.

THE 1990s

Since the 90s, Gran Tuhon has been the leading representative of authentic weapon martial arts of hte Philippines.

Since the 90s, he has trained thousands of students all over the world. Through numerous appearances in radio, television, and print media as well as his participation in demonstrations, festivals, and tournaments worldwide, he has become the leading voice in indigenous Philippine martial arts. For his contribution to the worldwide promotion and fostering of Pekiti-Tirsia Kali and Philippine martial arts, he is not only appreciated by martial artists all over the world but also by the Philippine government. He received—among others—a distinction from the office of President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo for spreading and promoting awareness of Philippine martial arts worldwide.

He has taught Pekiti-Tirsia Kali in 25 countries all over the world. His contribution to the Filipino Martial Arts (FMA) community is unprecedented and makes him one of the greatest living legends of our time.
Pekiti-Tirsia Kali arms students with such effective techniques for using weapons and blades that is is utilized by military and law enforcement authorities all over the world, such as Special Forces in the US, India, Austria, and the Philippines.

As the highest grandmaster and representative of Pekiti-Tirsia Kali, Gran Tuhon is the three-time award winner in the Hall of Fame and Weapon Master Instructor in the entire world.

Everything you need to know about our training concept

More background knowledge on Pekiti-Tirsia Kali

More background knowledge on Qigong and Tai Chi

img_bks_kali-3@2x.jpg

Our head trainer
Tuhon Dipita Schäfer

img_bks_GrandTuhon@2x.jpg

GRAND

TUHON

LEO T.

GAJE JR.

DER GROSSMEISTER

"Kali, the original martial art of the Philippines in its truest form, is a systematic art of combat fighting based on the science of strategy and tactics. The fighting methods are ancient from its historical and cultural developments, yet the techniques are forever ultra advanced that its fighting values always remain new." - Grand Tuhon Leo T. Gaje, Jr

 

"Kali, die ursprüngliche Kampfkunst der Philippinen ist in ihrer wahrsten Form eine Kunst des Krieges, die auf der systematischen Weiterentwicklung von Strategie und Taktik basiert. Die Kampfmethoden sind aufgrund ihrer historischen und kulturellen Entwicklungen uralt, aber die Techniken bleiben so hochentwickelt, dass die Kampffähigkeiten, die daraus entstehen, zeitlos sind. " - Grand Tuhon Leo T. Gaje Jr.

 

Diese Beschreibung des Kali durch Grand Tuhon bietet einen perspektivischen Einblick von seinen Gründungsprinzipien bis zu seiner gegenwärtigen Anwendung.

img_bks_Gaye@2x.jpg

AKTUELLER DENN JE

Pekiti-Tirsia Kali ist als das beste System für den Nahkampf anerkannt. Seit Beginn des Programms im Jahr 1998 haben die philippinischen Force Recon Marines, US-Spezialeinheiten und andere Kampfwaffeneinheiten im Nahkampf ausgebildet. Die Überlegenheit der philippinischen Kampftechnologie wurde von den Trainern und Kommandanten der US-Einheiten anerkannt und angenommen.

 

Gegenwärtig fungiert Grand Tuhon als leitender Berater der Streitkräfte der Philippinen und der philippinischen Nationalpolizei. Er führt Fortbildungsprogramme für operative Einheiten durch, die am globalen Krieg gegen den Terrorismus beteiligt sind.

Im Laufe der Zeit hat Grand Tuhon Tausende von Kampfkünstlern ausgebildet und beeinflusst, von denen einige ihre eigenen Stile formulierten. Dazu gehören z.B. Edgar Sulite, Dan Inosanto, Chris Sayoc und viele andere. Grand Tuhon ist nach wie vor die weltweit führende Autorität für philippinische Kampfkünste. Sein Name ist gleichbedeutend mit der Schärfe einer Klinge, Dementsprechend wird er auch als der Schwertmeister betitelt.

 

Obwohl Pekiti-Tirsia Kali nicht auf Turniersportarten spezialisiert ist, hat es sich auch in der Sportarena als effektiv erwiesen. Pekiti-Tirsia Kali hat mehrere nationale und internationale Champions im Vollkontakt-Stockkampf hervorgebracht, wie zum Beispiel den Grand Champion des ersten (1.) Nationalen Arnis-Turniers (Kali, Eskrima), das 1979 auf den Philippinen ausgetragen wurde.

Im Bereich Real Contact Stickfighting - Stockkampf mit minimaler oder gar keiner Schutzausrüstung - sind das Pekiti-Tirsia-System und seine Kämpfer hoch angesehen. Eric Knaus, ein Schüler von Grand Tuhon, war der Gründer ("Top Dog") der mittlerweile weltweit bekannten Dog Brothers.

img_bks_magazine@2x.jpg

DIE 1970'ER

1972 wanderte Grand Tuhon von den Philippinen in die Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika aus und ließ sich in New York nieder. In Übereinstimmung mit der Philosophie des Pekiti-Tirsia-Kali-Systems und seinem Glauben an Leben, Gesundheit und Erfolg öffnete Grand Tuhon die Tür des Wissens und begann das Pekiti-Tirsia Kali in New York zu unterrichten.

 

Er wurde weltweit führend in der Förderung und Vermittlung authentischer philippinischer Kampfkunst. Dabei unterrichtete er nicht nur im  Kampfkunst Begeisterte, sondern auch Angehörige einer Vielzahl an Militär- und Strafverfolgungsberufen. Er war in den 1970er Jahren der führende philippinische Kampfkunstmeister in der östlichen Region der Vereinigten Staaten. Bis heute arbeitet er mit den höchsten Ebenen der philippinischen Regierung zusammen, um das kulturelle Erbe der philippinischen Kampfkunst zu fördern, anzuerkennen und zu bewahren. 

 

Grand Tuhon, war der Erste, der philippinische Kampfkünste einem großen Publikum zugänglich machte, indem er groß angelegte Werbeaktionen und Demonstrationen  im Osten der USA an Orten wie dem New Yorker Lincoln Center organisierte und durchführte. Er organisierte auch die erste öffentliche Vorführung des philippinischen Vollkontakt-Stockkampfs im Playboy Club in New Jersey. Er war der erste, der eine philippinische Kampfkunstschule im philippinischen Konsulat in New York City eröffnete und als Erster die philippinische Kampfkunst unter anderen nationalen Organisationen der Kampfdisziplin förderte.

 

1979 war Grand Tuhon zusammen mit anderen Großmeistern Hauptorganisator des ersten nationalen Arnis (Kali) -Turniers auf den Philippinen.

DIE 1980'ER

In den 80er Jahren dominierte die erste Generation von Pekiti-Tirsia-Schülern und Lehrern die Voll-Kontakt-Stockkampf-Turnierszene in den USA.

 

Grand Tuhon war der Erste, der die philippinischen Kampfkünste dem New York Police Department (NYPD) vorstellte und für das NYPD Trainingsprogramme entwickelte und durchführte. Aufbauend auf der Arbeit an diesen Programmen entwickelte Grand Tuhon das "Safety-Baton-System", das ERSTE defensiv taktiksche Waffensystem für Sicherheitsbehörden, das die körperliche Unversehrtheit eines Täters maximiert und damit einhergend Haftungsrisiken für die Behörde reduziert. Dies zu einer Zeit, als Sicherheitsbehörden überwiegend  in Kampfsystemen trainiert wurden, die darauf abzielten,  lebenswichtige Bereiche des Körpers zu attackieren. Das führte oftmals zu erheblichen Haftungansprüchen gegenüber Polizeibeamten und Abteilungen. Dr. Kevin Parsons, Exec. Der Direktor der US Justice System Association sagte: Das Safety-Baton-System ist «ohne Frage das dynamischste, innovativste und mit Sicherheit effektivste System, das ich in fast 20 Jahren Polizeiausbildung gerne überprüft habe».

 

Grand Tuhon wurde später zum Nationalen Ausbildungsdirektor der Justice System Training Association und der US Police Defensive Tactics Association ernannt, was 1988 zu seiner Position als technischer Berater und seinem Auftritt im Video SURVIVING EDGED WEAPONS von Calibre Press führte. 

Dieses hochgelobte Video untermauerte die Bedrohung durch Klingen Waffen in den Strafverfolgungsanstalten und etablierte Grand Tuhon als führende Autorität für Waffenverteidigungstaktiken.

DIE 1990'ER

Seit den 90er Jahren bis heute ist Grand Tuhon der führende Vertreter authentischer philippinischer Waffenkampfkünste der Philippinen.

 

Seit den 90er Jahren hat er tausende von Schülern auf der ganzen Welt trainiert.  Durch unzählige Auftritte in Radio, Fernsehen und Printmedien sowie durch Demonstrations-, Festivalteilnahmen und durch die Teilnahme an Turnierem weltweit ist er zur führenden Stimme der indigenen philippinischen Kampfkünste geworden. Für seinen Beitrag zur weltweiten Förderung des Pekiti-Tirsia Kali und der philippinischen Kampfkünste wird er nicht nur von Kampfkünslter auf der ganzen Welt geschätzt sondern auch von der philippinischen Regierung. So erhielt er unter anderem eine Auszeichnung vom Büro der Präsidentin Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo für Verbreitung und Förderung der philippinischen Kampfkünste weltweit.

 

Er lehrte Pekiti-Tirsia Kali in 25 Ländern auf der ganzen Welt. Sein Beitrag zur FMA-Community (Filipino Martial Arts) ist unübertroffen und macht ihn zu einer der größten lebenden Legenden unserer Zeit. 

Pekiti-Tirsia Kali liefert dem Anwender beim Einsatz von Waffen- und Klingen eine so effektive Technologie, dass es von Militär- und Strafverfolgungsbehörden auf der ganzen Welt genutzt wird (wie z.B. den Spezialeinheiten in den USA, Indien, Österreich und den Philippinen).

 

Als oberster Großmeister und Repräsentant des Pekiti-Tirsia Kali ist Grand Tuhon dreimaliger Preisträger der Hall of Fame und Waffenmeister-Ausbilder (Weapon master instructor) auf der ganzen Welt.

Alles zu unserem

Trainingskonzept

Mehr Hintergrundwissen zu

Pekiti-Tirsia Kali

Mehr Hintergrundwissen zu

Qigong und Taijiquan 

img_bks_kali-3@2x.jpg

Unser Cheftrainer

Tuhon Dipita Schäfer