img_camouflage.jpg

PEKITI-
TIRSIA
KALI

INFORMATION AT A GLANCE

You can find the curriculum for trainer education in Pekiti-Tirsia Kali here.

You can find the ranks for Pekiti-Tirsia Kali here.

Training Schedule & Rates

Personal Training

Seminars

Contact

COUNTEROFFENSIVE COMBAT SYSTEM

The Philippines has a tradition of combat that spans centuries, and from this came hundreds of martial art systems. However, blade culture stays the focus of training—its origins can be traced back to 2,000 years. Pekiti-Tirsia Kali is the system of martial arts belonging to the Tortal family, which comes from the western Visayas region of the Philippines. They created the system in 1897. The Tortal family has vowed to guard this cultural artifact.

Pekiti-Tirsia Kali is an authentic and comprehensive Filipino combat system. It is the only system that is used in training by the Philippine government, the US military, Special Forces Groups in India and Austria, and many other military and law enforcement authorities around the world. The marine force recon batallions of the Philippine armed forces, the Scout Rangers of  the Philippine army, the Special Action Forces (SAF) of the Philippine National Police (PNP), and the Presidential Security Group (PSG) were trained in in Pekiti-Tirsia Kali.

FOCUS OF THE COMBAT SYSTEM

Pekiti-Tirsia Kali is a comprehensive combat system against one or multiple opponents. Its specialization lies in  tactical weapon use and handling. It includes both traditional and modern weapon categories and employs the strategic principle of the triangle as its basis for footwork, weapon use, and fighting tactics. As such, it offers an all-encompassing concept in which weapons can be implemented from all distances. It doesn't matter if that means avoiding the opponent's weapon, destroying it, or controlling it—the system has proven itself  an effective tool to act in all sorts of dangerous situations.

img_bks_kali-ptk-2@2x.jpg

FUNCTIONING PRINCIPLES

Pekiti-Tirsia Kali deals with the circumstances and conditions of combat and battle analytically and takes into consideration the natural, tangible, and functionally correct human characteristics and capabilities. As successful battle is always waged with the goal of causing an imbalance in power, weapons are consistently the focus of training—after all, they pose the greatest danger and offer the most usefulness at the same time. 

Combat strategies and tactics have been developed alongside aspects of movement that adapt to the mechanics of impact, the flow of movement, and the properties of the respective weapon. It doesn't matter if it's a cutting, stabbing, impact, or thrusting weapon—or even no weapon at all—the principles of Pekiti-Tirsia Kali can be seamlessly transferred to all areas and distances. As such, tactical manipulations and applications to the human body always aim for anatomical weak points and make it possible to subdue stronger opponents.

PERSONAL ATTITUDE

As Pekiti-Tirsia Kali can be an utmost effective and lethal form of martial arts, the moral framework in which it is embedded is entirely dedicated to the well-being of one's family as well as the protection of life. The sense of responsibility that comes with the skills you learn is accompanied by a positive, optimistic attitude that manifests itself in a culture of respect, care, and hospitality.

img_bks_kali-ptk@2x.jpg

OUR PRINCIPLES

We believe in life; we do not believe in death. Our belief in life is our highest imperative and permeates all aspects of our being.

We believe in health; we do not believe in sickness. Health and longetivity are our primary goals.

We believe in success; we do not believe in failure. With each action, we commit ourselves to achieving success.

CULTURE

Respect: We believe in life; therefore, we respect the lives of others.

Concern and care: This is the result of respecting others.

Hospitality: The combination of respect, concern, and care leads to hospitality for others.

EXPLANATION OF TERMS

PEKITI-TIRSIA: Pekiti is translated as "face to face," and Tirsia means "to drive into a corner and cut up." In other words, Pekiti describes the manner of using distance in fights to one's advantage to get closer to the opponent and end the confrontation. Tirsia describes the offensive nature of the system. It is based on the strategic principle of controlling the opponent through tactical movements and impact. Furthermore, Tirsia symbolizes the triangle, which builds the foundation for movements, body structure, and strikingmechanisms.

Kali describes old Philippine fighting methods. The term expresses the orientation towards blades—in other words, that all hand and body movements are geared towards using a blade. Originally, knowledge of the combat systems of Kali was kept a secret. It was only imparted within the family to protect themselves and others from oppressors. KA and LI are sounds rooted in indigenous Philippine languages and writing systems and are written in Baybayin as the following: Ka Li
 

Kali-sign-2@2x.png

THE HISTORY

As a traditional Philippine family system, Pekiti-Tirsia Kali throws us back to a time where carrying and using weapons were common and required for men. The Tortal family perfected their combat system over the course of generations. They kept on developing the tactics and techniques of their Kali systematically and tested it out in real-life fights for survival. Through amicable mutual lessons, sparring duels with other accredited family and system leaders, and full-on fights that led to the death of the enemy, the system of Pekiti-Tirsia was continually trained, performed, and validated.

The oral tradition of the Tortal family bore witness to four generations that practiced the family system of Pekiti-Tirsia: Norberto Tortal taught the system to his son, Segundino Tortal. Segundino taught his five sons: Balbino, Tedoricio, Francisco, Quirino, and Conrado. Of the five brothers, Conrado was chosen as the heir to the system, while Balbino was one of his most important training partners. Balbino was shot to death by Japanese soldiers in Barangay Conception, Talisay, Negros Occidental in 1945 after he had disarmed a Japanese officer of his samurai sword and killed two soldiers who had tried to spear him with a bayonett.

As the patriarch of his family, Conrado B. Tortal handed this system down to his only grandson—the sole heir and representative, Grand Tuhon Leo Tortal Gaje Jr. 

 

Everything you need to know about our training concept

More background knowledge on 
Qigong and Tai Chi

img_bks_kali-3@2x.jpg

Our head trainer
Tuhon Dipita Schäfer

img_bks_kali-4@2x.jpg

About Grandmaster Grand Tuhon Leo Tortal Gaje Jr.

img_camouflage.jpg

PEKITI-
TIRSIA
KALI

ALLE INFOS IM ÜBERBLICK

Das Curriculum für die Trainerausbildung im Pekiti- Tirsia Kali findest Du hier.

Das Ranking für Pekiti-Tirsia Kali findest Du hier.

Trainingsplan & Preise

Personal Training

Seminare

Kontakt

KONTER-OFFENSIVES KAMPFSYSTEM

Die Philippinen haben eine jahrhundertelange Tradition des Kampfes, aus der viele hunderte Kampfkunstsysteme entsprungen sind. Die Klingenkultur steht dabei im Mittelpunkt des Trainings – ihr Ursprung reicht dabei bis zu 2000 Jahre zurück. Das Pekiti-Tirsia Kali ist das Kampfkunst System der Tortal-Familie, die aus der westlichen Visayas Region der Philippinen stammt. Das System wurde 1897 von ihnen ausformuliert. Die Tortal-Familie hat sich auferlegt, dieses Kulturgut zu wahren. 

 

Pekiti-Tirsia Kali ist ein authentisches und umfassendes philippinisches Kampfsystem. Es ist das einzige System, dass von der philippinischen Regierung, dem US-Militär und den Special Forces Groups in Indien und Österreich und vielen anderen Militär- und Strafverfolgungsbehörden auf der ganzen Welt trainiert wird. Die Marine Force-Recon Battalions der Streitkräfte der Philippinen, die Scout Rangers der philippinischen Armee, das SAF-Kontingent (Special Action Force) der philippinischen Nationalpolizei (PNP) und die Presidential Security Group (PSG) werden in Pekiti-Tirsia Kali ausgebildet. 

AUSRICHTUNG DES KAMPFSYSTEMS

Das Pekiti-Tirsia Kali ist ein umfassendes Kampfsystem gegen einen oder mehrere Gegner mit der Spezialisierung in der taktischen Waffenführung und -handhabung. Es umfasst traditionelle sowie moderne Waffenkategorien und benutzt das strategische Prinzip des Dreiecks als Grundlage für Schrittarbeit, Waffenführung und Taktiken im Kampfgeschehen. So verfügt es über ein umfassendes Konzept, bei denen Waffen in allen Entfernungen eingesetzt werden können. Dabei ist es egal, ob es darum geht, der Waffe des Gegenübers auszuweichen, sie zu zerstören oder zu kontrollieren. Damit hat es sich als ein effektives Werkzeug erwiesen, um in jeglicher Gefahrensituation handlungsfähig zu sein.

img_bks_kali-ptk-2@2x.jpg

FUNKTIONSWEISE

Pekiti-Tirsia Kali setzt sich analytisch mit den Gegebenheiten von Kampf und Krieg auseinander und betrachtet die natürlichen, greifbaren und funktional korrekten menschlichen Eigenschaften und Fähigkeiten. Weil erfolgreicher Kriegskampf immer ein Machtgefälle zum Ziel hat, steht die Waffe stets im Mittelpunkt des Trainings, da sie die größte Gefahr und gleichzeitig den größten Nutzen darstellt. 

 

Die Kampfstrategien und -taktiken werden mit Bewegungsaspekten entwickelt, die sich der Mechanik des Schlag und des Bewegungsflusses sowie den Eigenschaften der jeweiligen Waffe anpassen. Ganz gleich ob Hieb-, Stich-, Schlag-, Stoßwaffen oder auch waffenlos, das Pekiti-Tirsia Kali ist nahtlos in alle Bereiche und Distanzen übertragbar. Die taktische Manipulationen und Anwendungen am menschlichen Körper zielen immer auf dessen anatomischen Schwachstellen und ermöglichen es, stärkere Gegner zu bezwingen.

INNERE EINSTELLUNG

Da das Pekiti-Tirsia Kali ein äußerst effektives und tödliches Kampfsystem sein kann, ist der moralische Rahmen, in den es eingebettet ist, vollkommen dem Wohl der Familie und dem Schutz von Leben gewidmet. Die hohe Verantwortung, die mit den erlernten Fähigkeiten einhergeht, wird von einer lebensbejahende Einstellung begleitet, welche sich in einer Kultur des Respektes, der Fürsorge und Gastfreundschaft zeigt.

img_bks_kali-ptk@2x.jpg

GLAUBENSSÄTZE

Wir glauben an das Leben, wir glauben nicht an den Tod. Unser Glaube an das Leben ist oberstes Gebot und durchdringt alle Aspekte unseres Seins.

 

Wir glauben an Gesundheit, wir glauben nicht an Krankheit. Gesundheit und Langlebigkeit sind unser primäres Ziel.

 

Wir glauben an Erfolg, wir glauben nicht an Misserfolg. Wir verpflichten uns zum Erfolg bei jeder Aktion.

KULTUR

Respekt - Wir glauben an das Leben und respektieren daher das Leben eines Anderen.

Sorge und Fürsorge - Dies ist das Ergebnis des Respekts für Andere

Gastfreundschaft - Die Kombination aus Respekt, Sorge und Fürsorge führt zu Gastfreundschaft gegenüber Anderen.

ERLÄUTERUNG DER BEGRIFFE

PEKITI-TIRSIA: Pekiti bedeutet übersetzt "Von Angesicht zu Angesicht" und Tirsia "In die Ecke treiben und zerstückeln".  Pekiti beschreibt dabei die Art und Weise, Distanzen im Kampf bestmöglich zu nutzen, um nahe an den Gegner zu kommen und die Konfrontation zu beenden. Tirsia beschreibt den offensiven, Charakter des Systems. Es basiert auf dem strategischen Prinzip, den Gegner durch taktisches Bewegen und Schlagen zu kontrollieren. Zudem symbolisiert Tirsia das Dreieck, welches die Grundlage für Bewegungen, Körperstruktur und Schlagmechanismen bildet. 

 

KALI beschreibt grundsätzlich alte philippinische Kampfmethoden. Der Begriff drückt Klingenorientierung aus, dh. dass alle Hand- und Körperbewegungen an der Nutzung mit einer Klinge ausgerichtet sind. Ursprünglich war das Wissen um die Kampfsysteme des Kali geheim. Es wurde ausschliesslich innerhalb der Familie zum Schutz vor Unterdrückern gelehrt. KA und LI sind Klänge, die in den indigenen philippinischen Sprachen und Schriftsystemen verwurzelt sind und in Baybayin wie folgt geschrieben: 

Kali-sign-2@2x.png

DIE GESCHICHTE

Als traditionelles philippinisches Familiensystem geht Pekiti-Tirsia Kali auf eine Zeit zurück, in der das Tragen und Verwenden von Waffen bei den meisten Männern üblich und erforderlich war. Die Tortal Familie perfektionierte ihr Kampfsystem über Generationen. Sie entwickelte die Taktiken und Techniken ihres Kali systematisch weiter und 'testete' es immer wieder im realen Überlebenskampf. Durch freundschaftlichen Unterrichtsaustausch, Sparring-Duelle mit anderen anerkannten Familien- und Systemführern und direkte Kämpfe, die zum Tod des Feindes führten, wurde das System von Pekiti-Tirsia kontinuierlich trainiert, ausgeführt und validiert.

 

Die mündliche Überlieferung der Familie Tortal zeugt von vier Generationen, die das Familiensystem von Pekiti-Tirsia praktizieren: Norberto Tortal brachte seinem Sohn Segundino Tortal das System bei. Segundino lehrte seine fünf Söhne; Balbino, Tedoricio, Francisco, Quirino und Conrado. Von den fünf Brüdern wurde Conrado als Erbe des Systems ausgewählt, wobei Balbino einer seiner wichtigsten Ausbildungspartner war. Balbino wurde 1945 von japanischen Soldaten im Bereich Barangay Conception, Talisay, Negros Occidental, erschossen, nachdem er einem japanischen Offizier von seinem Samuraischwert entwaffnet hatte und zwei Soldaten getötet hatte, die ihn versuchten mit dem Bajonett aufzuspießen.

 

Der Familienpatriarch Conrado B. Tortal gab dieses System an seinen einzigen Enkel weiter, den alleinigen Erben und dessen Repräsentant, Grand Tuhon Leo Tortal Gaje Jr.

 

Alles zu unserem
Trainingskonzept

Mehr Hintergrundwissen zu
Qigong und Taijiquan 

img_bks_kali-3@2x.jpg

Unser Cheftrainer

Tuhon Dipita Schäfer

img_bks_kali-4@2x.jpg

Über den Großmeister

Gran Tuhon Leo Toral Gaje Jr.